Abiding in Him

images

At the close of the year I am meditating on what it really means to ABIDE in Him. Here is the definition of the word abide according to the dictionary

abide

verb \ə-ˈbīd\

: to accept or bear (someone or something bad, unpleasant, etc.)

: to stay or live somewhere

: to remain or continue

abode  or abid·edabid·ing

Full Definition of ABIDE

transitive verb
1
:  to wait for :  await
2
:  to endure without yielding :  withstand

:  to bear patiently :  tolerate <cannot abide such bigots>

3
:  to accept without objection <will abide your decision>
intransitive verb
1
:  to remain stable or fixed in a state
2
:  to continue in a place :  sojourn
— abid·er noun
— abide by

1
:  to conform to <abide by the rules>
2
:  to acquiesce in <will abide by your decision
In the scripture the word abide is used many times and here are some of my favorite verses:
Psalm 91:4 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High shall ABIDE under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the Lord He is my refuge and my fortress, My God in Him I will trust.
John 8: 31-32 The Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him, ” If you  ABIDE in my word you are my disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth and truth shall make you free.
John 15:5 I am the vine and you are the branches. He who ABIDES in Me and I in him bears much fruit for without me you can do nothing.
John 15:7 If you ABIDE  in Me and I in you, you will ask what you desire and it shall be done for you.
John 15:9 As the Father loved me, I also have loved you, ABIDE in my love.
1 John 2:15-17 Do not love the world or the things of the world. If anyone loves the world- the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life is not of the Father but is of the world. And the world is passing away and the lust of it but he who does the will of God ABIDES forever.
1 John 2:24-29 Therefore let that ABIDE in you which you heard from the beginning. If what  you heard from the beginning abides in you, you will also abide in the Son and in the Father. And this is the promise that He has promised us – eternal life. These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you. But the anointing which you have received from Him ABIDES in you and you do not need that anyone teach you, but as the same anointing teaches concerning all things and is true and is not a lie just as it has taught you, you will ABIDE in Him. And now little children ABIDE in Him in that when He appears we may have confidence, and not ashamed before Him at His coming. If you know that He is righteous you know that everyone who practices righteousness is born of Him.
As we enter this time of year with one year ending and another before us it always helps me to spend time with the Lord looking back at what He has taught me this past year and asking for His guidance for the year ahead. In this special time before Him I only heard this one word – ABIDE. So I began by looking up the different verses and writing them down because that always helps me personally to understand what He is saying in His word  and I can have a record of this special time with Him  and something  to look back at  next year.
2013 was a difficult year for me and for a lot of people. I have missed my family in the United States with a deeper intensity and I have loved my family here with a deeper intensity. It was time of great changes in my life, I now have a 21-year-old who woman living with me that needs a lot of help and it  was unexpected and has changed everything for me  but the Lord has given the wisdom and all of the resources necessary to guide this precious daughter of His on her way to freedom from her past and looking forward to the future she has in Him. Ministry opportunities also increased for me this year gobbling up any free time I had in the past which is why I haven’t been able to focus on writing on this blog or even keeping up with my personal relationships with each of you the way I should. The business of life sometimes robs us  of special  moments with those we love the most. Sometimes I am just plain tired and feeling burned out and long for a day of doing nothing.
The attacks of the enemy have been hard and painful on me as well and I know the same is true in the lives of many of you. I don’t see things getting any easier in the year ahead. I see more change, stronger attacks and some of us may be permanently departing. I  helped to take care of two wonderful women who have since gone home to be with the Lord these past two months and I know many of you have faced similar losses in your lives. Broken relationships, children lost to drugs, infidelity, loss of jobs, and all the things that can quickly bring us to our knees. All of this reminds me of the words in 1 John – do not love the things of this world because this world and the things in it are passing away. We are meant to enjoy the things in this world and all of the people that God has placed in our lives but when we let the things and people here take the place in our heart that belongs to Him and Him alone that is when we get into trouble because all of these things are passing away including us and all of those we cherish!
So what is our hope?  How are we going to hang on? Our hope is in the soon appearing of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ to come and rule and reign and restore the earth to what it was designed to be and to rid it of all evil. How are we going to make it until then? By abiding under the shadow of the Almighty. By tucking ourselves under the shelter of His wings and letting the storms role by safely abiding in His love and His care for us no matter what comes even if He choses to take us home. We are going to have to await, withstand, remain, continue, tolerate, to accept without objection, to remain stable in a fixed position until He comes and we can do it friends. With the help of the Holy Spirit and the power of Christ we can do it! Dig in and settle yourself for the ride ahead without fear and with the glorious hope ahead! And if we abide we will not be ashamed before Him when He appears because really – we can do ALL things in Christ who strengthens us!
I wish the best for all of you in 2014 and I want to share the joy I have  because we are one year closer to the return of our Lord! Happy New Year!
Abiding under the shelter of the Almighty,
Linda
About Linda

Full time missionary for the Lord Jesus Christ serving in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Abiding in Him

  1. Dori says:

    Dear Friend,
    What a fitting (bird) picture of our Divine Overshadowing…thank you!
    I, too, dig for details to gain more understanding of God’s Word, and appre. having your homework of ABIDING, to refer to later!
    John 15, has always been special to my heart. Want to share from an inspirational
    explanation of some vss. in Jn. 15, given me, on a birthday card many years ago…..

    “For One Growing In Him”
    Jesus is the Vine…
    I am the True Vine
    He is your real source of life…
    you are the branches
    If you will rest in Him…
    A b i d e in Me
    And LET Him live thro’ you…
    And I in you
    You will be all He wants you to be…
    You will bear much fruit
    You will know what He wants you to ask of Him…
    Ask whatever you will
    For it will be exactly what He has been waiting to do for you…
    And it will be done for you
    His love is so great that…
    I have loved you
    If you will just LET Him love you…
    A B I D E in My love
    You will never need to look elsewhere again…
    May My joy be in you
    You will be completely SATISFIED…
    That your joy may be full
    Because He is your friend…
    For you are My Friend.

    In the New year may we be filled with HIS overflowing life and HIS overflowing joy! P.T.L.
    from Whom all blessings flow!
    Love you, dori

  2. Eileen says:

    Amen to everything you said…and thank you Dori for your post as well ! “Abiding” has been put on my heart as well Linda…I had “just” posted a message on my facebook page from Paul Washer concerning “How to Abide in Christ”. I love when I see how He speaks to all of us together as His Bride……and individually as His brothers and sisters. Hold fast…eyes on Jesus, eyes on Jesus !
    love, Eileen :-)

    • Linda says:

      Wow Eileen I want to read it! Either Ashley or Luis are going to speak about John 15 too on Sunday because the Lord put that same theme on their hearts as well. I am not sure which one wrote the comment on my facebook but one of them is speaking this Sunday. Yes He is clearly telling us to hang on for the ride ahead and to hold tight to the Joy we have in Him no matter what. I want to read the message from Paul Washer I am sure it will fill in more missing pieces for me! Thank you dear friend – miss and love you!

Leave a Reply

