Follow Me

Matthew 4:18-22
And Jesus, walking by the sea of Galilee, saw two brothers, Simon called Peter, and Andrew his brother, casting a net into the sea; for they were fishermen. Then He said to them, “Follow Me and I will make you fishers of men.” They immediately left their nets and followed Him.
Going from there, He saw two other brothers, James the son of Zebedee, and John his brother, in the boat with Zebedee their father, mending their nets. He called them, and immediately they left the boat and their father, and followed Him.

A few years ago I was getting ready for work and a picture of a scene I wanted to paint  popped in my head and the words – “Come follow me!” I thought about painting that picture and those words all day long.  As soon as I got home that night I got out my paints and a sheet of watercolor paper and painted the picture you see here. The words are from the scripture  in Matthew quoted above. I could not wait to put the picture in the frame and hang it up. The painting hangs in our bathroom on the wall and I see it every day.

When I painted that picture I had no idea that two years later I would be getting ready to go to the shores of a different land and indeed begin the adventure of my life time with the Lord fishing for men….. and women and children and sharing with them the life changing message of Jesus Christ in El Salvador.

As I spend this time with the Lord preparing to go I too, like the men in the story,  will be leaving behind many treasured things, especially family and friends.  As exciting as it is to be going,  there  are  times when I feel a little sad or scared thinking about all that I am leaving behind! But it seems as soon as the saddness or fear come knocking on my heart I hear the Lord quietly bekoning me again – come follow me –  and then peace returns and my thoughts once again shift to a people and  a place on shores far away and the joy just wells up inside of me once more!!!
What a priviledge it is to serve the Master and follow Him. He takes our hand and leads us to the place He has prepared just for us  to serve Him and whether that place is in our local church, our home, our workplace,  or on shores far away the joy of serving Him with all of our heart is the same.  There is nothing else in this world that can compare!!!

Today may your peace and joy be full as you seek to serve and follow Him!

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Christianity, Jesus, Missions and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow Me

  1. joannefirth says:

    Beautiful sis! Can you do me one tiny favor…pretty please. Bring your paints and water color paper to El Salvador. I know you are going to be very busy, but the Lord put on your heart to paint the above picture with your beautiful gift. I truly believe there are more paintings to be painted. A series, if you will…of your journey. All my love, forever. ❤

Leave a Reply

