Considering the Cost

A fellow missionary, Carlos Menendez, translated for me as I shared the gospel with this group of girls in El Salvador

Luke 9:57 – 10:2 Now it happened as they journeyed on the road that someone said to Him, “Lord I will follow You wherever You go.” And Jesus said to him, “Foxes have holes, and birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay His head.” Then He said to another, “Follow Me.” But he said “Lord, let me first go and bury my Father.” Jesus said to him, “Let the dead bury their own dead, but you go and preach the kingdom of God.” And another also said, “Lord, I will follow You, but let me first go and bid them farewell who are at my house.” But Jesus said to him, “No  one , having put his hand to the plow , and looking back is fit for the kingdom of God.” After these things the Lord appointed seventy others also, and sent them two by two before His face into every city and place where He Himself was about to go. Then He said to them, “The harvest truly is great, but the laborers are few; therefore pray the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.

 Making the decision to go into full time  ministry in the mission field has not been an easy decision for me. Having grown up in an era where self-sufficiency rules,  I could not totally cast all my cares upon the Lord and trust Him to provide everything I need.  For me, it has been a real wrestling match with God.  He won!!!!!!!!  Once I was able to see clearly the foolishness of trying to manage those areas of my life He was asking me to trust Him for,  I immediately told Him how sorry I was that it took me so long to see it,  but I  would gladly relinquish  caring for myself to Him!  As soon as I confessed to the Lord my lack of trust in Him  He began to bless me with everything I need to take my next steps to follow Him  and  He has blessed me even above what I have asked for!

 It helped me,  by reading and thinking about the scripture verses in the story above,  to know that this struggle was not unique to me. As you can see even thousands of years ago when Jesus was calling people to follow Him their immediate response was yes,  BUT first let me……….! Jesus consistently tells each one in the story  if you can’t let go of that and trust me to take care of it in your absence then you are not ready to follow me where I want to take you next! Our desire to follow and our ability to trust must reach the same level before we are free to go! I am so happy to have that part of the journey behind me – it was not easy to go through but the new level of freedom in Christ I am experiencing was well worth it.  Drawing closer to the Lord through this time of waiting to go has been precious to me as He is equipping me to go where He is asking me to follow and helping me to let go of the things I need to entrust to Him. The really exciting part for me  in the Gospel story in Luke is He sent them before His face into a place that He himself was going before them. He has definitely been working in El Salvador and His people there are reaping a great harvest even though they are few. I am so honored to have been asked to come along side and assist them in the Lord’s harvest! And I thank Him that He is so patient and longsuffering with me!

Be blessed and encouraged as you consider the next thing He is calling you to do!

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Jesus, Missions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Considering the Cost

  1. Tamara Devorce says:

    All I can say is “WOW” my sister about how we were on the same page this morning!

    I am thanking Him right now for the both us and that His Will is being done in and through our lives.

    Love you my sister – and continue to let the Lord order your steps.

Leave a Reply

