In Christ Alone

Jesus,  talking to His disciples about His soon departure,  comforted them with these words from John 14:  1 “Let not your heart be troubled; you believe in God, believe also in Me. 2 In My Father’s house are many mansions;[a] if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.[b] 3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also. 4 And where I go you know, and the way you know.”
5 Thomas said to Him, “Lord, we do not know where You are going, and how can we know the way?”
6 Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.

Even after walking so closely with the Lord His disciples were confused about what He was trying to tell them. How much easier for us to get confused if we don’t study and become rooted in the word of God! Today Christians everywhere around the globe are being pressured to give up the narrow way of Jesus as the only way to God and get on the broad way of all paths lead to God!  The bible clearly teaches us in Matthew 14: 13“Enter through the narrow gate; for the gate is wide and the way is broad that leads to destruction, and there are many who enter through it. 14“For the gate is small and the way is narrow that leads to life, and there are few who find it.  The “narrow gate” being mentioned here means becoming “born again” or asking Jesus to forgive your sins and giving control of your life over to Him. If we do this and mean it we become a follower of Christ and we are sealed with the Holy Spirit and are promised eternal life with Christ forever. There is no other faith on the earth that can make the same claim! Jesus is the only one to have ever given this assurance!

The pressure on us is only going to increase as we get closer to the time of Jesus return which is why it is more important than ever to study the word of God for yourself and hide it in your heart so that you can be ready in every circumstance to give an answer for the hope that is in you, the Lord Jesus Christ, the one and the only begotten Son of God! No other can fit that description or lead you safely home!  As the darkness continues to grow darker we are only going to shine brighter if we study and cling to the truth of God’s word without wavering.  Others will notice the hope and peace we have and we will be able to lead  those He sends into our lives away from the broad gate that leads to destruction and invite them to join us on the narrow way, by accepting Christ as their Savior and Lord  which leads to eternal life with Him. What greater purpose could we ever have than telling others about the Lord!!!!

Lyrics to the Song In Christ Alone

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm
What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

In Christ alone, who took on flesh
Fullness of God in helpless babe
This gift of love and righteousness
Scorned by the ones He came to save
‘Til on that cross as Jesus died
The wrath of God was satisfied
For every sin on Him was laid
Here in the death of Christ I live

There in the ground His body lay
Light of the world by darkness slain
Then bursting forth in glorious Day
Up from the grave He rose again
And as He stands in victory
Sin’s curse has lost its grip on me
For I am His and He is mine
Bought with the precious blood of Christ

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny
No power of hell, no scheme of man
Can ever pluck me from His hand
‘til He returns or calls me home
Here in the power of Christ I’ll stand

May the Lord grant peace and grace to you as you stand for HIM today!

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Jesus. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In Christ Alone

  1. Tamara Devorce says:

    Amen Sis. Linda – I an reminded of this song “Blessed Assurance – Jesus Is Mine” and I am so glad about it. Yes we must study the Word and hide it in our hearts. For yes the false teachers and the false prophets are twisting and compromising the Word of God. We must and I mean we must know His Word for ourselves.

    Be blessed my sister and keep letting the Lord use you.

  2. Linda says:

    I too love that song!! He is all we need! You be blessed too Sister!

Leave a Reply

