Light Bearers

On Saturday June 5th, 2010 a fellow “light bearer” went home to be with the Lord. His name is John Gregory and I met him at a bible study I go to on Monday nights at Nickerson’s Campground.  John asked Jesus into his life about two years ago and it transformed his life so radically you couldn’t help but be amazed at the power of the Lord to change a life turned completely over to Him. John had been in Willimantic at an event called Praise Fest and was on his way home on his motorcycle when a car coming towards him crossed into his lane and killed him instantly. John loved the Lord more than he loved his own life and John loved others as much as he loved the Lord! My sons and I are really going to miss him and look forward to the day we will see him again.

Here is a scripture passage that I think best describes what John would say to us if he could talk to us one last time:

Philippians 2:12-17 –  In my study bible,  the title of this passage is “Light Bearers” and it is being spoken by the apostle Paul to the believers in Philippi:

Therefore my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling: for it is God who works in you both to will and to do for His good pleasure.

Do all things without complaining and disputing, that you may become blameless and harmless, children of God without fault in the midst of a crooked and perverse generation, amoung whom you shine as lights in the world, holding fast the word of life, so that I may rejoice in the day of Christ that I have not run in vain or labored in vain.

Yes and if I am being poured out as a drink offering on the sacrifice and service of your faith, I am glad and rejoice with you all. For the same reason you also be glad and rejoice with me.

So I am going to dry my tears and rejoice with John that he is safely home in the arms of the Savior he loved so much and be reminded daily to share the love and light of Jesus Christ with all I meet as John so clearly demonstrated while he was with us!

Thank you Lord for my friend John Gregory and please give him a hug and tell him how very much I loved him!

Under the shadow of His wings,

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Christianity, Jesus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Light Bearers

  1. Ruth Kressler says:

    Reference 1 Thessalonians 4:13-18.
    “When believers suffer the loss of family members or dearly loved friends, we have in Paul’s description of Christian death and resurrection all that is needed to comfort one another in these losses. Christian death is not permanent; it is merely a “sleep”. A time is coming when we and our loved ones will be reunited in a rapturous meeting, when Christ Himself calls us out of this world or out of our graves to be with Him forever in an ecstatic relationship of eternal love ! ” quote from David Jeremiah’s book titled “The Prophescy Answer Book.”

Leave a Reply

