Overview of Monday-Friday, Week 1

Monday, we arrived safely and without any glitches.  Linda and I were greeted at the airport by our dear friend Israel, who then drove us to the office in San Salvador. This office functions as the headquarters for Palabra de Vida El Salvador (Word of Life El Salvador), as well as the home for 4 missionaries- Camelia & Emannuel, Lucy, and Noemi. I really do feel at home here. My room, which Linda and I share, is great. The place God has given us to live for these 2 months is amazing. Gracias a Dios! Tuesday morning, I woke at 5 am, ate breakfast at 6, and then headed off to the camp in La Libertad around 7. We stayed at the camp and worked (I mostly painted) for Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. By 6 pm on Thursday, we headed back to San Salvador with the other missionaries. Piled in a 12 passanger van with 11 other people, I experienced rush hour in San Salvador for the first time. It wasn’t too bad because most of the time I was concentrating on practicing speaking spanish with Carlito. Painting at the camp was hard work, mostly due to the heat and humidity, but there were several down times when I got to watch soccer with the missionaries. Boy was that fun! Can you imagine walking down stairs at 5:30 in the morning to 10 wild, excited, and sometimes screaming Latin Americans watching the Argentina soccer game? Well, that’s what I experienced and it was awesome!

This is what we did at 5:30 in the morning- watch Argentina play in the World Cup

Not everyone who watched the game is in this picture, but you get the idea 🙂

The food I have eaten is incredible, the house I live in is great and the friends I have and am making are examples of the love of God. How is it that the Holy, Righteous God of Israel would look on me with such love and desire to bless me so much? How great is the Father’s love for us….How great. 1 Juan 3:1- ¡Fíjense qué gran amor nos ha dado el Padre, que se nos llame hijos de Dios! ¡Y lo somos! (How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God! And that is what we are! The reason the world does not know us is that it did not know him.)

Finally, last night I had the pleasure of going to a youth meeting with my dear friend, Neto Flores. It was at his church, Comunión Cristiana. While there, I met many bright, shining, and young faces who love the Lord and showed His love to me. I thank God for the young people around the world that He is raising up to truly live for Jesus Christ. It was also great to see my friend who I haven’t seen in two years. When I came to El Salvador in 2008, he was my translator and God gave us the pleasure of sharing the Gospel with 2 teenagers who received Jesus as their Savior.

This is the church where I attended youth group with Neto

From San Salvador, El Savador, resting in the love of Jesus,

Ashley

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Overview of Monday-Friday, Week 1

  1. Hey! Awesome to hear what’s happening! How hot and humid is it? How does it compare to February weather?

    Make sure you say hi to everyone for us. Also I put a link to your blog on our website under missions. If you want another picture, you will have to take one and send it to me.

    God Bless!

    We love you and are praying for you!

    Pastor Pat

    • Linda says:

      We love that picture!!!!! We think it captures us well!!! Everyone here says hi to you and Rachel and they are so grateful for the gift! The weather is in the high 80’s and we usually have a pretty strong thunderstorm each night that cools things off nicely. Lots of clouds during the day so we think it is cooler than February and it is much cooler in San Salvador than at the camp.
      Thank you for your prayers and we love you too!
      Ashley and Linda

  2. THE VIPER says:

    hay just wanted to say hi and GOD bless you both love TJ THE VIPER

Leave a Reply

