Learning to Do God’s Will

For my whole Christian life and most of my life in general, I’ve known that God has a plan for me. For the past few years, I’ve understood that His Will for my life is far better than anything I could come up with on my own, yet somehow, when I really examined my heart, I would always see that my alterior motive for most things was to try to get my own way or to please people. I am at a crossroads right now in my life. I know God’s Will for my life is to serve Him and to live everyday to the fullest, but when I get home, will I be able to ignore the constant clamor of voices telling me what to do and where to go? By the grace of God, I will. His Will for me is to serve Him, not people, including myself. This is a hard lesson, especially when even the majority of Christians in my life in the USA are pushing me toward the World’s Will and not the Father’s Will.

God’s Will for my life is not to get a degree that is highly esteemed by people, only to turn my back on serving Him. His Will is ALWAYS that I serve Him. Serving Jesus might look different at different times in my life, but it ALWAYS requires an attitude of sacrifice and obedience to my Savior. Lord, teach me sacrifice and obedience to You. I’ve decided that I will stop fighting for my own way. I will not push through the crowd any longer, trying to be noticed. I desire for God to shine through me because I, myself, am a wretched human, but with God, all things are possible.

Therefore, I will seek the Will of God in all things, and allow Him to change the places in me that don’t line up with His perfect plan. My Creator, my Lord, and the Lover of my soul will never do me wrong; it’s simply a matter of whether or not I hand over the reins of my life to Him and allow Him to give me the full and abundant life He desires to give to me. I turn my back on the things the world says I need and I look to the One who completes me and fulfills my true needs- Jesus. He is the faithful One. He is the Everlasting God. He does not faint; He won’t grow weary.

For San Salvador, El Salvador,

Ashley aka Maria (My El Salvadorian name)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

