Playing it Safe!

These are just some of the happy moments that we have been sharing since I arrived back in San Salvador. We have been busy and I am all settled in all ready. It feels like I never left. Next week we will be getting ready for a big women’s conference here in the city on October 16th. There will be between 400 and 500 women attending and we have many things to prepare and get ready like conference folders, decorations and small gifts for the women. We are very excited and ask that you join us in prayer that the women will be blessed! We just said goodbye to 5 Pastors visiting from the United States and several of them are planning on returning for short-term mission trips in the coming year.

I am so blessed to be apart of what God is doing here in El Salvador. Even just going through my daily routines I find people here to talk to about Jesus. Today I met a young man who wants to study the bible in English and all I was doing was taking the grass clippings out to the curb and he started a conversation with me about the Lord! This is what I love to do the most and it is amazing to me that I can communicate a little with people and I still don’t even know much Spanish – but with God all things are possible!

Just a word about my safety! Many people have expressed their concerns to me and also to my family members and friends about my safety here. We are never safer than when we are in the center of the Lord’s will for our lives! I feel this is truly what the Lord wants me to do right now. I have never experienced the joy of the Lord like I do in this place and I am so aware of the Lord and His protection for me wherever He leads me. I do not feel at all unsafe! We do live in a city but it is no different than any city in the US. We need to be aware and alert when we are walking around and we never travel alone or at night on foot.  I live in the house with 4 other people and we are in a safe neighborhood. I would choose any day to take a little risk if it means one more soul will come to know the  Lord than to play it safe and miss out on what the Lord wants to do with my life.  Here I have many opportunities every single day to share openly about Him and I see peoples lives visibly changed when they receive forgiveness that is only available through Christ and the blood He shed for us on that cross.

I know I am loved and it is normal for people to be a little concerned about me but please know that even if the Lord should choose to take me home I have complete peace about being here and serving alongside some wonderful people that can really use any help they can get and who feel the same way I do about sharing their faith. There is nothing we would rather do and the Lord blesses us in so many ways we cannot even begin to tell you!

Here is one of my very favorite passages from the book of Psalms and I believe these words to be true and I believe every word in the bible  is true and was written by normal people like you and me but under the divine inspiration of the Holy Spirit! I pray it brings comfort to you today in what ever situation you find yourself.  Nothing takes God by surprise and He cares for us better than anyone else ever can!

Under His wing!

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in El Salvador, God's Blessings, Jesus, Missions and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Playing it Safe!

  1. Mel says:

    I am excited about the conference for the women. I will be praying. Details…I want details 🙂 Is this the annual conference that was discussed with me two years ago, or something new? Praying…

    • Linda says:

      Yes it is Mel – It is an annual conference held in San Salvador each year in October. If you go to the Palabra de Vida website there are a few more details. This year they are adding something new for single moms that they did not have in past years. We are praying for at least 500 to come! God Bless you!

  2. Joanne Firth says:

    Beautiful post Sis. ❤ Love you

  3. Gramma Rose says:

    Lovin’ you, dear One, and grateful that you allow us to be apart of your wonderful adventure!! God Bless and Keep You!! Muchos lovos!!

    • Linda says:

      The wild and crazy adventures of Jane of the Jungle – stay turned for more crazy antics and hilariously funny episodes in the weeks ahead!!! Love you too!

  4. Eileen says:

    Linda, that verse has been going through my head a lot this past week. I know what you mean about not being worried or afraid. When your eyes are focused on Him…it’s really hard to be concerned about the usual things. There’s no better place to be than right in the middle of His will for you. You are indeed blessed that He’s put you there ! I pray that each one of our family members comes to that place in the Lord….the Joy of our Lord Jesus Christ and serving Him ! 🙂

    • Linda says:

      Thank you so much Eileen – yes the things of earth will grow strangely dim in the light of His glory and grace. Play that one for me in church next time you are leading the worship! I think it is for now! Time to really turn our eyes upon Jesus!!

  5. Ruth Kressler says:

    As usual the Holy Spirit has given you the scripture that speaks your heart ! and the scripture that will put the concerns of those who love you to rest ! Praise God for His protection and faithfulness. He is the creator and SUSTAINER of life- everyday we are given is by HIS GRACE !

Leave a Reply

