Birds of a feather – Happy New Year!

 AVE   El torogoz, un ave de singular belleza por su policromoplumaje, inadaptable al cautiverio y símbolo de la unidad familiar, por la participación en pareja en el cuidado de sus pichones, fue declarado Ave Nacional, con el objetivo de preservarlo del exterminio y fomentar su protección.

Translation: The TOROGOZ, a bird of singular beauty of its policromoplumaje, maladapted to captivity and a symbol of family unity and family participation in caring for their young, was declared national bird in El Salvador and Nicaragua, in order to preserve it from extinction and promote their protection .

When I was cleaning today I looked out the window and there was the state bird, the Torogoz, sitting on the wall out front. I quick grabbed my camera and he sat and let me take three pictures of him and then he flew away.

Today is New Year’s eve and a special time for me to spend with the Lord reviewing the promises He gave me last New Years and asking Him to reveal His will for my life for the coming year. Being in that frame of mind I knew it was not a coincidence that this beautiful special little bird came to visit me today.  After I looked up the information about this exotic little friend I  checked for scripture verses that talk about unity and there is a beautiful prayer that our Lord prayed for His disciples  first and then  for all of us, His family.

Jesus Prays for All Believers

John  17:20-25

:20“My prayer is not for them alone. I pray also for those who will believe in me through their message, 21that all of them may be one, Father, just as you are in me and I am in you. May they also be in us so that the world may believe that you have sent me. 22I have given them the glory that you gave me, that they may be one as we are one: 23I in them and you in me. May they be brought to complete unity to let the world know that you sent me and have loved them even as you have loved me.

24“Father, I want those you have given me to be with me where I am, and to see my glory, the glory you have given me because you loved me before the creation of the world.

25“Righteous Father, though the world does not know you, I know you, and they know that you have sent me. 26I have made you known to them, and will continue to make you known in order that the love you have for me may be in them and that I myself may be in them.”

There is nothing on earth like being part of the family of God, especially when we are united, as the Lord prayed for us.  I am so grateful that He sent me such a beautiful reminder of how very much He loves us and longs to be reunited with us so that we may see Him in all His glory! Maybe 2011 will be the year that He comes for us! I am going to be watching and waiting and longing for His return when we will be reunited in complete unity with Him and with all of those in the family of Christ!

Just like this beautiful little bird, we don’t do well in captivity either,  and we needed Him to  rescue us, wash us  in His precious blood, redeem and protect  us.  He will  return one day to reunite all of us, living and dead,  who believe in Him. That’s a promise!

Be sure to spend time with the Lord and ask Him for a promise for you and for your family for the coming year and then spend time in His word and He will answer you! Have a wonderful and blessed New Year!

Under His wing,

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in El Salvador, God's Blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Birds of a feather – Happy New Year!

  1. Ruth Kressler says:

    Thank you for showing me this beautiful bird and for sharing the meaning of its name ! The Lord has confirmed that you are the beautiful bird He chose to use to bring unity to the families of El Salvador ! The Lord knows your heart is full of love for children and your love for the Lord will lead the children to Him ! May your heart be overflowing with the love you receive from everyone the Lord has placed in your life ! I love you and I thank God for putting you in my life 38 years ago !

  2. math games says:

    post not working in firefox

Leave a Reply

