Come to the Feast!

The Parable of the Great Banquet

Luke 14:15 When one of those at the table with him heard this, he said to Jesus, “Blessed is the man who will eat at the feast in the kingdom of God.”

16Jesus replied: “A certain man was preparing a great banquet and invited many guests. 17At the time of the banquet he sent his servant to tell those who had been invited, ‘Come, for everything is now ready.’

18“But they all alike began to make excuses. The first said, ‘I have just bought a field, and I must go and see it. Please excuse me.’

19“Another said, ‘I have just bought five yoke of oxen, and I’m on my way to try them out. Please excuse me.’

20“Still another said, ‘I just got married, so I can’t come.’

21“The servant came back and reported this to his master. Then the owner of the house became angry and ordered his servant, ‘Go out quickly into the streets and alleys of the town and bring in the poor, the crippled, the blind and the lame.’

22“‘Sir,’ the servant said, ‘what you ordered has been done, but there is still room.’

23“Then the master told his servant, ‘Go out to the roads and country lanes and make them come in, so that my house will be full. 24I tell you, not one of those men who were invited will get a taste of my banquet.’”

We went to a small village this week to partner with a local church and to go door to door out into the roads and country lanes to share the gospel and invite the people to come to a “great banquet”  feasting on the Word of God at the church in the evening and invited them to receive the Lord as Savior!!!!

The reaction of many of the people was the same as the ones in the first part of the parable. They had a great many excuses why today was not a good day to ask Jesus to take over their lives! Many used excuses like  “I am a religious person, I go to church already and it is up to someone else to know God and intercede for me.”  “I am not worthy to know God intimately – I have too many sins to be forgiven. ” “I’ll think about it but not right now.”Even with the proof of the Holy Scriptures in front of them which clearly says in John 3:16  “For God so loved the world that He sent His one and  only Son that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have everlasting life” many people had no trouble saying no to the invitation. They eyed us suspiciously as if we intended to trick or harm them in some way. But the message is clear! There is no other criteria  other than believing in HIM and receiving Him as Lord of your life! As human beings we are conditioned to believe that there  must be something else we must do  to EARN our salvation. It can’t be true that it is a free GIFT to us. There is nothing, nothing, nothing we can ever do that is greater than what God did for us!!!! It is a FREE gift! Jesus paid the price for all of our sins! Why is it so hard for us to accept this invitation?

I remember how hard it was for me to hear this message! I remember how many years it took for God to bring me a place on my knees with nowhere else to turn before I was ready to listen! And then one day He removed the veil over my eyes and I could see Him in His word and I knew it was true and that I had been forgiven of all my sins, and believe me they were too numerous to mention! I remember how clean and free I felt and how I wanted every single person that I came in contact with to know this truth that is hidden in plain sight!!!! The desire to share the gift and the miracle of new life in Christ  never left me and that is why I am able to knock on a strangers door and show them the Word of God and tell them about the amazing gift of forgiveness and eternal life in Christ! But it is an individual  decision and each person must come to that place alone before God and realize his sin has no cure other than being cleansed and washed away by the blood that Jesus shed on that cross for each and every human being past present and future. He died for me and for you and for all. Talk about inclusive! No one is excluded from His plan and an invitaion is given to all to receive forgiveness and eternal life!!!!!!!

Jesus is in heaven today preparing our home and the biggest feast of all time – the wedding supper of the Lamb: Revelation 19:9 Then the angel said to me, “Write: ‘Blessed are those who are invited to the wedding supper of the Lamb!'” And he added, “These are the true words of God.” Everyone is invited and your spot at the table is reserved if you will accept His invitation!!!! There are going to be 6 more people, that we know of,  at the table with us as a result of the prompting of the Holy Spirit as we spoke with them and they  prayed with us to ask for forgiveness and for Christ to come and dwell in their hearts and to receive the gift of eternal life with Him.  Hallelujah!

These are three of the children I fell in love with there – Gherson, Melissa and Gloria

Under His wing!

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in El Salvador, God's Blessings, Jesus, Missions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Come to the Feast!

  1. Brian Doyle says:

    Loved the post mom. Keep on loving the lost!!!!

    • Linda says:

      I pray to God that just like Moses my natural vigor will not be diminished and my eyesight won’t grow dim as long as He allows me to serve Him!!!! Thanks for the encouragement B!!!!!

  2. Hi Linda

    The message is so simple, and yet, so many do not “get it!” Praise the Lord that He opens eyes and hearts to receive and understand. Keep getting the word out, and may you reap a mighty harvest for the Lord!

    Bless you and your work in El Salvador.

    • Linda says:

      Thank you and please pray for us we are going out this week to present our drama about the empty heart that only Christ can fill in two schools and then we are going out door to door again in a new town!How are things where you are? Settled down again after the storm?

Leave a Reply

