Time Flies!

A Time for Everything

  Ecclesiastes 3:1 There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven: 2 a time to be born and a time to die, a time to plant and a time to uproot, 3 a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build, 4 a time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance, 5 a time to scatter stones and a time to gather them, a time to embrace and a time to refrain, 6 a time to search and a time to give up, a time to keep and a time to throw away, 7  a time to tear and a time to mend, a time to be silent and a time to speak, 8 a time to love and a time to hate, a time for war and a time for peace.

Amen and another thing about time is that it grows wings and flies away from us! I can’t believe it has been almost a month since I posted anything on the blog so I want to share some of the blessings we have received since the first of the year!

Mauricio and Raquel got a car.

 

 Many of you know that Mauricio and Raquel have the goal of preaching the gospel in every city in El Salvador and I think there are 282 cities.  Now that God has provided the car through a generous donor they will be able to reach more cities each year than they can travelling on the buses here. They have also been given the responsibility within the ministry for weekly outreach events. These are the outreach activities I have been sharing in the recent posts. We present the gospel through dramas, go house to house sharing the gospel, hold open air evangelism sessions and also organize worship services. Please pray for our outreach and for Mauricio and Raquel . They are  looking for a home close to the office in their price range and would like to get settled soon. They are currently  living here with us at the office.

We just got back from a small work trip at the camp. I was so surprised to see how much more work has been finished since I was there last! Here is a picture that should bring back fond memories to some of you that were on the work trip here last year! Once again we poured concrete by the bucket load only this time the guys had to haul them up two flights of stairs to the new dormitory area! Two of the guys got really sick from the heat so my job the next day was to fill the sand buckets. Danny and Ana Laura were my helpmates! Lucy and Amanda were busy sanding the plastered walls to prepare them for the painters. The windows for the dining hall and kitchen have been installed thanks to a very generous donation from a church in New Jersey! And the roof is on the maintenance building! I will share pictures of all the improvements soon. First we have to do a thank you letter to the donors which will be going out this week.

Emilia and Rodrigo are now man and wife! Yesterday they were wedded in a civil service  in the presence of 30 family and friends. The church ceremony will take place this coming Saturday March the 12th which is considered their official wedding day. They will not be living together until after the church ceremony. Yesterday the service was to satisfy the legal requirements and next Saturday will be the day to satisfy God’s requirements! They are busy getting ready to leave for Argentina a few weeks after the wedding to study at the bible institute for three years. They are hoping after their studies are complete to return to El Salvador and be full-time missionaries with Palabra de Vida. They are both  so dedicated and are hard workers and will truly be missed but we are so happy that God has blessed them to be able to go to spend this time learning more about His word! Please keep them in prayer this week and also for their future plans.

Thanks again to another generous donor and in answer to years of prayer Cecilia recently attended training in Honduras to begin home schooling the children in a bible based bi-lingual curriculum! They are excitedly awaiting the final funds to receive the starter kit to begin the teaching! They will have some additional time to spend in ministry to their neighbors now that they don’t have to make the long commute to and from the school each day! Please pray that all of the funds will be provided to begin very soon!

Another huge blessing is that I will be able to come home for a few weeks for the wedding of my beloved son Brian and his bride to be Andrea Dobbs! They are being wed on April 3rd. My sons and I had a wonderful time on google chat last Sunday working out the final details and preparations for our trip to Maryland to participate in this joyful celebration. I am so grateful to God that He has provided a lovely woman to be wed to my son and I look forward to the addition of another daughter to our family! On another  personal note, my sister Joanne finished her final chemo treatment for breast cancer. We lost our mother to breast cancer 13 years ago tomorrow. This  has been a hard time for me to be apart from my sister who I love so much but God is faithful and carried her through this time of treatment and is restoring her health! Thank you for your prayers for me and my family during this time of reunion and for a full recovery for my sister!

         

Last but not least Katie Rivers is going to be coming back with me on April 8th to spend a few weeks here with us helping us in whatever way she can! Katie came to El Salvador on a short-term mission trip in 2008 and a part of her heart has always been here since.  We are really looking forward to be able to spend this time together here in a country we both have come to love as much as our own native land! Please pray for Katie as God prepares her heart for this trip!

There are a few other great blessings that I want to share but I need to wait to be  able to share them so until next time……….

Under His wing!

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in El Salvador, God's Blessings, Missions. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Time Flies!

  1. Ann Taylor says:

    Congratulations to Brian. I hope when you are between Connecticut and Maryland you will remember there is always a place in my home and heart as you are passing through or maybe stopping in Boiling Springs. It sounds like you have found a calling and a place for your heart!! I love you.

    • Linda says:

      Thank you so much my dear friend! Unfortunately I will only be home for two weeks and we are flying from Boston to Baltimore to save some time for the wedding. Kids have to be back at work early Monday! So I won’t be in Boiling Springs at all but you will always be close me in my heart my dear friend and one day we will walk the streets of gold catching up on all the things we have missed in each others lives these past 8 years! Love you too and thanks for the congrats – I have your picture from last years Christmas card of you and all your family on my bookshelf at home so I used to see you every day! hahahaha

  2. It’s hard to believe mom has been gone for 13 years now. I pray for a cure for breast cancer and all other diseases that take our loved ones away from us sooner that we are ready. We are never ready though and that is not for us to decide. All I know is that I’m fighting as hard as I can every day and am glad to be making progress. Thank you for all of your prayers and messages of support and love along the way. You are the best and strongest sister in the world………no matter where in the world you are. ❤ Love you sis, see you on the 25th.

    • Linda says:

      I pray the same and yes it is hard to believe but I have such a wonderful picture of her in my mind in heaven with Jesus and cancer free so even though I miss her so much I am so glad that she is no longer suffering! God bless you today sis and I love you!

  3. Brian Doyle says:

    I think it is safe to say….that I have the BEST mom in the world! Soooooooooooooo proud of you mom! Keep on touching lives with the love and passion of out Lord!
    B

Leave a Reply

