Ministry Update August/September 2015

    Romans 10:14  How then shall they call on him in whom they have not believed? and how shall they believe in him of whom they have not heard? and how shall they hear without a preacher? 

   SAM_5119

SAM_5302

Making pinatas with the women

SAM_5301

With the teachers

These pictures were taken on our mission trip to San Juan Cotzal in Guatemala in the beginning of August.  The people there are really warm and friendly and it didn’t seem to bother them too much that I am so big compared to them!!!! It was a little awkward for me but after a few days I got used to it! I was able to stay with the family in the picture in the top. We became really good friends and they adopted me into their family and invited me to stay with them whenever I come back that way! We were able to share the Gospel in the town square and also in a private Christian School and also house to house to the parents of the school children.  The picture above is with three of my favorite teachers at the school! We also had a class for the mothers to learn how to make pinatas. The area is very rural and most of the men work in agriculture and the women are weavers. All of the clothes you see in the pictures except for mine were hand-woven!!!! Their work is incredible and the cost of a typical outfit is about $250.00.  My favorite time was sharing the gospel with a group of shoeshine boys who live on the streets.  Some of them accepted Jesus as their Savior and I pray He helps them to get off the streets and into loving families! Will you join me in praying for them???

!SAM_5185

Street children in Cotzal

Friends invited me to help them in their very first medical campaign in a heavily controlled gang area where they are trying to reach the young children and help to prevent them from entering the gangs. We were short of doctors so they actually had me see patients! I was really nervous but with God’s help I was able to see about 30 kids and the doctor that checked my diagnosis and treatments said they were all correct.  Philippians 4:13 I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.

SAM_534411870812_526338887528616_2317761575145563854_n

Buildings near the clinic marked for MS13     Checking the weight and height of the children

Celebrated my 64 birthday in August and the Lord blessed me in so many ways during this time! It is hard to even put into words the gratitude I have toward my heavenly Father and the way He lavishes His love on me!

1440013286284 Enjoying a birthday cake with my family in the rehab center Torre Fuerte!!!

We began the month of September with a medical outreach in a village here in the mountains and 38 people came to know Jesus as their Lord as a result of our visit! My job was in the pharmacy! The people were so grateful for our visit and many of them had a life changing experience!!!

11988347_847621341980443_8712979539062665258_n

pharmacy crew

And as if that wasn’t exciting enough for one month, one of my doctor friends  sent a photo of me to an agency filming a mini documentary for the ministry of tourism. They selected me to play the part of the patient in the documentary. The campaign will be shown in the United States in the hopes of helping people looking for cost-effective ways to treat cancer and to take advantage touring the beautiful country of El Salvador with the money saved on treatments!

12002853_849338818475362_5597016652353979498_n

I never know from one day to the next what the Lord has in store for my life but I can tell you one thing with great certainty – Serving the Lord with all of your heart, all of your mind and all of your strength is never never never boring and He rewards those who follow Him!

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that comes to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek Him.

Thanks for taking the time to read a little about what the Lord is doing here in El Salvador and in my life. I thank you so much for your love and support and prayers!!!

Under His Wing,

Linda

About Linda

Serving the Lord Jesus Christ in El Salvador
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ministry Update August/September 2015

  1. Ann says:

    I love you and am so proud of you! You are inspiring.

  2. Eileen says:

    Wow….Linda, you must be having the time of your life ! I know how hard it was for you here in the states just wanting to share the gospel and getting the “talk to the hand” treatment so often. And here you are now encouraged to share anywhere and with anyone near enough to hear….and they are so open ! Keep at it girl ! In my prayers and thank you so much for sharing about all the Lord is doing through you !

    • Linda says:

      Thank you for your prayers Eileen! It is only through the grace of God that I can do what I do!!!! He has given me the life I could only dream about before and there are no limits to what He can accomplish for His glory and His purposes!

  3. #1 says:

    I knew you would have a great birthday / month! I love you Mom!

Leave a Reply

